EXECUTIVE BOARD

At a meeting of the Executive Board on Wednesday, 16 May 2007 at the Marketing Suite, Municipal Building

Present: Councillors McDermott (Chairman), D. Cargill, Gerrard, Harris, McInerney, Polhill, Nelson, Wright and Wharton

Apologies for Absence: (none)

Absence declared on Council business: (none)

Officers present: L. Cairns, D. Johnson, D. Parr and M. Winstanley

Also in attendance: (none)

ITEMS DEALT WITH UNDER POWERS AND DUTIES EXERCISABLE BY THE BOARD

Action

EXB111 MINUTES

The minutes of the meeting held on 29th March 2007 were taken as read and signed as a correct record.

EXB112 APPOINTMENT OF LEADER AND DEPUTY LEADER OF THE COUNCIL

RESOLVED: That the Council be recommended to

- (1) appoint Councillor McDermott as Leader of the Council for the 2007-2008 Municipal Year; and
- (2) appoint Councillor Polhill as Deputy Leader of the Council for the 2007-2008 Municipal Year.

EXB113 APPOINTMENT OF DEPUTY MAYOR

The Board considered a report of the Strategic Director – Corporate and Policy regarding the appointment of Deputy Mayor for the 2007-2008 Municipal Year that, following the results of the recent Local Government Elections, now needed to be reconsidered.

RESOLVED: That Council be recommended to

appoint Councillor Loftus to the post of Deputy Mayor for the 2007/08 Municipal Year.

EXB114 APPOINTMENT TO BOARDS, COMMITTEES, APPEAL PANEL AND WORKING PARTY

The Board considered a report of the Strategic Director – Corporate and Policy regarding appointments to the Council's Boards, Committees, Appeals Panel and Working Party for the forthcoming Municipal Year. A list of Committee Memberships put forward by each of the political groups was tabled for information.

RESOLVED: That Council be recommended to agree the following appointments to the Council's Boards, Committees, Appeals Panel and Working Party for the 2007/2008 Municipal Year:

Executive Board (10)

Executive Sub (3)

3MG Executive Sub-Board (3)

Mersey Gateway Executive Board (3)

Corporate Services Policy and Performance Board (11)

Councillors Gilligan (Chairman), Lowe (Vice Chair), Bradshaw, Bryant, Dennett, Edge, C. Inch, Loftus, Nolan, Norddahl and Wainwright.

Healthy Halton Policy and Performance Board (11)

Councillors E. Cargill (Chairman), Loftus (Vice Chair), Gilligan, Higginson, Horabin, C. Inch, Lloyd-Jones, J. Lowe, Marlow, Swift and Wallace.

Urban Renewal Policy and Performance Board (11)

Councillors Hignett (Chairman), Morley (Vice Chair), P. Blackmore, Bradshaw, E. Cargill, Leadbetter, Murray, Nolan, Rowe, Sly and Thompson.

Employment, Learning and Skills Policy and Performance Board (11)

Councillors Jones (Chairman), Fraser (Vice Chair), P. Blackmore, Edge, Findon, Howard, Lewis, Parker, Rowe, Stockton and Worrall.

Children and Young People Policy and Performance Board (11)

Councillors Dennett (Chairman), Horabin (Vice Chairman),

Drakeley, Fraser, Gilligan, Higginson, D. Inch, J. Lowe, Parker, M. Ratcliffe and Stockton.

Safer Halton Policy and Performance Board (11)

Councillors Osborne (Chairman), Stockton (Vice Chair), Edge, Lloyd-Jones, Morley, Murray, E. Ratcliffe, M. Ratcliffe, Redhead, Swift and Thompson.

Development Control Committee (11)

Councillors Nolan (Chairman), Thompson (Vice Chairman), P. Blackmore, S. Blackmore, Hignett, Leadbetter, Morley, Osborne, Polhill, Rowan and Sly.

Business Efficiency Board (11)

Councillors Leadbetter (Chairman), Lloyd-Jones (Vice Chair), Cross, Findon, Jones, A. Lowe, Norddahl, Osborne, Philbin, Sly and Worrall.

Standards Committee (8)

Mr. W. Badrock (Chairman), Parish Councillor Crawford, Mr A. Luxton, and Councillors, Lewis, Parker, L. Redhead, Swain and Wharton.

Appeals Panel (20)

Councillors Wainwright (Chairman), Parker (Vice Chairman), Bradshaw, E. Cargill, Dennett, Fraser, Gerrard, Horabin, Howard, C. Inch, Jones, Loftus, J. Lowe, Marlow, M. Ratcliffe, Redhead, Rowan, Swift, Wallace and Worrall.

Regulatory Committee (11)

Councillors Philbin (Chairman), Wallace (Vice-Chairman), B. Bryant, Cross, Drakeley, Howard, D. Inch, A. Lowe, Nelson, E. Ratcliffe and Wainwright.

Local Development Framework Working Party (15)

Councillors Polhill (Chairman), Harris, Hignett, M. Hodgkinson, C. Inch, McDermott, McInerney, Murray, Nolan, Parker, Redhead, Rowan, Sly, Wainwright and Wright.

Scrutiny Co-Ordinator

Councillor S. Blackmore

EXB115 ANNUAL REVIEW OF CONSTITUTION

The Board considered a report of the Strategic Director – Corporate and Policy outlining proposed changes to the Council's Constitution, which had resulted from the annual review.

It was noted that the revised version picked up the

changes to the Council's working arrangements that had taken place during the year as well as other changes which would hopefully assist the Council to operate more effectively. The proposed amendments that were considered to be of significance were listed in Appendix 1 to the report. Further information in respect of the revised Code of Conduct was also provided at Appendix 2.

In addition, the Board's attention was brought to the proposal to include within Chapter 8 a role profile for a "Member Without Porfolio" who would be appointed at the discretion of the Leader. If appointed, this Member would provide support to the Leader in a variety of ways and the Board noted the terms of reference. The Leader confirmed that there were no plans to appoint a Member to this role in the 2007/2008 Municipal Year.

RESOLVED: That Council be recommended to approve the changes to the Constitution as set out in the amended version of the Constitution circulated with the Council Summons.

MINUTES ISSUED: 17th May 2007

CALL IN: 24th May 2007

Any matter decided by the Executive Board may be called in no

later than 24th May 2007

Meeting ended at 2.11 p.m.